Pastors after God’s Heart

I mentioned in a past blog that the Bible uses the phrase “after God’s heart” or something similar at least four times by my count.  Two refer to David.  A third is found in Jeremiah 3:15 -

“And I will give you shepherds after my own heart, who will feed you with knowledge and understanding.”

The context of this verse references a specific time, but the application is timeless.  We need shepherds after God’s heart – pastors whose hearts beat like God’s heart.  Pastors who have hearts for God and seek to do all his will.

As a pastor, I know all too well how easy it is to get caught in the busyness of ministry.  But what I need is a heart for God.  What the church I pastor needs is a man after God’s heart.  And how will I have such a heart?  Through God’s Word that reveals his heart and through prayer that submits my life to his will.  And then from this heart flows the ministry God desires.

And what does God desire.  Back to the verse: “who will feed you with knowledge and understanding.”  God desires his people to be fed.  They need the Word – to know it and to understand it to the point that they can live it.

The apostles said they would devote themselves to prayer and the Word (Acys 6:4).  That must be my calling – to be in the Word and prayer so that I might have a heart for God, and then prayerfully preach the Word so that God’s people might have a heart for God.

God, help me to be a shepherd after your heart, and raise up countless shepherds after your own heart – that you might lead your people to be a people after your heart.

About Brian

Follower of Christ, Husband, Dad, and Pastor
This entry was posted in Heart and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.