Not About Me

George Whitefield was a great preacher and revivalist who God used along with others to bring about the First Great Awakening.  Crowds of thousands flocked to hear him.  Yet he knew it wasn’t about him, but about Christ.  Consider these Whitefield quotes I found in Dallimore’s Whitefield biography:

“Let the name of Whitefield perish, but Christ be glorified.”

“Let my name die everywhere, let even my friends forget me, if by that means the cause of the blessed Jesus may be promoted.”

“But what is Calvin, or what is Luther?  Let us look above names and parties; let Jesus be our all in all – So that he is preached….I care not who is uppermost.  I know my place…even to be the servant of all.”

It’s not about me.  It’s not about you.  It’s only about Jesus.  Lord, help us share Whitefield’s attitude, and let your glory be over all the earth!

About Brian

Follower of Christ, Husband, Dad, and Pastor
This entry was posted in Biography/History, PASSION Quotes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.