Scholarship or Insurrection?

I want to share and ponder one more quote from John Piper’s book, Think, that really caught my attention:

If all the universe and everything in it exist by the design of an infinite, personal God, to make his manifold glory known and loved, then to treat any subject without reference to God’s glory is not scholarship but insurrection.

What do you think? 

And do you think we can apply this statement to everyday thinking about everyday life?  That is: if I am thinking without reference to God’s glory, I am being rebellious.

If that is so, it seems to me we are much more rebellious and sinful than we probably thought.  And it raises some good self-reflection questions: 

Why do you think about what you think about?  For God’s glory?  Or for man’s applause?  To please people?  To impress yourself?  For your own glory? 

And then there is Jesus who always sought to to do will of the Father – to live for God’s glory even in his thinking.  And we realize we don’t measure up and never could and desperately need him to be our Savior.

About Brian

Follower of Christ, Husband, Dad, and Pastor
This entry was posted in PASSION Quotes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Scholarship or Insurrection?

  1. lambskinny says:

    I’m reading this book right now. I also was taken by the above quote. I think about God a lot, but there are times when He is not in the “front” part of my mind because I am focused on a patient, for example.
    Nevertheless, He is there with me in the person of the Holy Spirit; therefore, I don’t believe it is sinful to not be speaking of Him or thinking of Him directly ALL THE TIME.
    What do you think?

    • Brian says:

      Thanks for the comment.
      I was only going to post the quote, but then questions like yours made me start thinking and questioning and writing further. In context, Piper is simply saying that scholarship should reference God instead of ignore him. Perhaps that is part of our answer – are we thinking at all about God or do we consistently ignore him.
      But I think part of it might be too (as I wrote above) – why do we think what we think? In your case are you thinking about your patient for yourself or for God and the good of the patient? Whose glory are you seeking? Then again, maybe you are you just doing your job without seeking anyone’s glory – would that be wrong? I don’t know – I’m feeling my way along here….

  2. theologigal says:

    SUCH a good book. It’s true: once you start really thinking about your thinking, any notions of intrinsic goodness seem silly, and we see that we could never measure up… Thank God for Jesus and His grace.

Comments are closed.