Keep Your Heart

If we don’t keep our heart, which means continually feeding our heart’s affection – if we allow the running of a business or the raising of a family or the maintenance of a church to keep us so busy that we don’t take time to cultivate intimacy with God and to keep our hearts burning with passion for our first love – then we shouldn’t be surprised if our souls collapse into the false intimacy of scandalous sin.

– Gary Thomas in Holy Available

About Brian

Follower of Christ, Husband, Dad, and Pastor
This entry was posted in PASSION Quotes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Keep Your Heart

  1. Jo Ann says:

    …….this is focusing once again, in the UP direction…………

  2. Mike says:

    I like the quote. I have two distinct periods in my journey with God. The first: ‘working for Him’. When trying to rid myself of all the bad in my life didn’t get me God, I tried adding all the good I could in hopes that that would do it. All that led to was burn out.

    But now, having set all that aside to just seek Him, I have now discovered the other distinct period: ‘walking with Him’. There is really no comparison.

    You’ve posted some thoughts on Acts recently. When I did my study on Acts, I was impressed by the idea set forth in the beginning, of the need to ‘wait’ until we are empowered. I think what I did all those years was to go off in my own strength – before I was empowered. Sure I was doing the best I could with what I had, but it is distinctly different now.

    About 8 years ago I back out of all my church duties and just started over in my pursuit of God. For a few years I really didn’t do anything work wise. After a while though, He opened a door with this jail ministry that was unquestionably His doing. So now I am back working again, but there was a period of waiting before Him that I think was significant . . . and something I think the church today needs to understand.

    Our working is not our way ‘to’ Him; it flows out of our time ‘with’ Him.

  3. Brian says:

    Good thoughts. Thanks, Mike

Comments are closed.