Passion Week Devos: Friday

Good Friday (in 3 parts)

Morning: Plot – The Plans of God and Men
Read Luke 22:1-6, 22:47-53, 22:63-23:16

Prayer: Father, how shamefully they treated your Son.  Judas plotted against him and betrayed his friend.  The religious leaders plotted against him and made a mockery of justice to have their own way.  And yet all their plots were part of your bigger plot to save me.  Thank you for my Savior.  Amen.

Noon: Pardon – In My Place
Read Luke 23:17-25

Prayer: Father, Barabbas should have died that day, but Jesus died in his place.  The cross should have been mine, but Jesus died in my place.  He died for my sins, for my rebellion.  He who was perfect paid the penalty for my sins that I might go free.  Jesus, thank you for taking my place.  Amen.

Evening: Passion – Remember the Cross
Read Luke 23:26-49

Prayer: Father, words are so cheap, but thank you for the cross.  Thank you for forgiveness.  Thank you for the hope of paradise.  Thank you for Jesus.  Amen.

Reflect/Discuss: How does reflecting on Christ’s passion fuel your love for him?

Praise: Spend some time singing songs about the cross.

 

About Brian

Follower of Christ, Husband, Dad, and Pastor
This entry was posted in Holidays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.