Beloved

Therefore, be imitators of God, as beloved children.
– Ephesians 5:1

God calls us beloved children.  You are God’s beloved child – his dearly loved son or daughter.  You are dearly loved by God.

The Creator and Sustainer and Sovereign King of the entire universe dearly loves you.  Let that sink in.  God dearly loves you.  Oh that you might grasp this incredible truth that God loves you.  Who cares what others think of you, if God of universe loves you.

This word “beloved” occurs three times in Ephesians.  Once is here.  The first time was back in 1:6 where Paul referred to Jesus as the Father’s beloved.  At Jesus’ baptism, the Father declared, “This is my beloved Son in whom I am well-pleased.”  And here in our text, the Father says the same thing to you: “You are my beloved son.  You are my beloved daughter.  You are my beloved child.  I dearly love you.”

You are beloved by God.

May that truth sink into your heart, and may you live each day out of this glorious reality.

About Brian

Follower of Christ, Husband, Dad, and Pastor
This entry was posted in Ephesians and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.