Cultivating Your Prayer Life

CultivatePrayerIn How Can I Cultivate Private Prayer, Joel Beeke’s third way to take hold of yourself is to speak with sincerity in prayer.  He notes Psalm 62:8 which calls for us to pour out our heart to God.  We cannot just mouth words; the heart, indeed our whole being, is to be involved.

Beeke expands on this thought by quoting Thomas Brooks:

God looks not at the elegancy of your prayers, to see how neat they are; nor yet at the geometry of your prayers to see how long they are; nor yet at the arithmetic of your prayers, to see how many they are; nor yet at the music of your prayers, nor yet at the sweetness of your voice, nor yet at the logic of your prayers; but at the sincerity of your prayers, how hearty they are.

So how hearty are my prayers?  Am I simply mouthing requests without feeling?  Going through the motions of praying through my prayer list?

Or am I crying out to God for help?  Am I groaning for his intervention?  Pleading for his grace and mercy?  Rejoicing in his blessings?

Where is my heart?  And where is yours?

About Brian

Follower of Christ, Husband, Dad, and Pastor
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.